Achievement Unlocked: New Peerage Order Speech

So, at Midsummer Coronation, Their Majesties Makarius and Izabella sent three candidates to vigil to contemplate elevation to the new Peerage, the Order of Defense, and they had kept the candidates very secret.
At Double Wars, the three bestowed peerage circles were tasked with organizing a vigil tent each at their stepping down, so the Laurels had to put up and decorate one tent, the Chivalry did one, and the Pelicans did one.

The candidates were Master Arenwald von Hagenburg, Viscount Cernac, and Viscount Æiríkr inn Hárfagri.

Tablecloth or napkin for the MoDFor the Laurel tent I made a small table-cloth/napkin with the badge of the new order in the middle, with the tree blades done in three different stitches to represent the three premiers. The text and one sword is stem stitch, the second blade is chain stitch and the last one is double running stitch. All embroidery done with filament silk which was given to me at my vigil. It was also meant to go with the new Masters as regalia for the Order, to be used at future vigils. A little something for them to have, to start with.

Of course I went in to talk to all three candidates at their vigil and was surprised, humbled and honoured when Viscount Æiríkr asked me if I would speak for him at the elevation ceremony on Saturday morning. The first time I spoke for anyone was Countess Cecilia’s Pelican ceremony at Double Wars just over a month ago, so this was only my second time ever speaking for anyone. It didn’t occur to me then but later that night, when I was trying to write the speech, that I would actually be a part of a historic moment for Drachenwald.

The ceremony of sending them to their vigil was awesome and emotional, and I wept like a big softy, which I always do, and the elevation ceremony was also very well done and thought through, with speakers from the now closed Order of the Dragons Steel, Chivalry, Pelican, Laurel and Rose, plus speakers from the Populace. I was going to be one of three Laurels speaking at the first elevation of a Master of Defense. So, when it turned out that Sven was speaking for both Arenwald and Cernac I realized I was going to be one of only two Laurels speaking. I got a little more nervous then, but I managed to say the words, without weeping (much), including a few words from Æiríkr’s Laurel Mistress Melisende Fitzwalter.

I am still awed, honoured and grateful to be given this opportunity to be a small part of history with the establishment of a new Peerage Order in Drachenwald.

Leave a Reply

